When a client cancels a prepaid appointment, it is up to you to decide how the refund will be processed. Depending on your automatic refund policy and cancellation fee settings, the money may be refunded to the client automatically or only after you approve it, and a cancellation fee may be charged.
Setting automatic refund rules
To set automatic refund rules:
- Go to the Business Settings (mobile: Profile > Settings).
- Select Payments & Checkout.
- Go to the Booksy Pay section.
- In the Booksy Pay refunds section, in the Cancellation window for refunds field, you can specify the deadline by which a client can cancel an appointment to receive an automatic refund. From the drop-down menu, select the latest date by which a client can cancel an appointment and click Save. After this date, for appointments that are not subject to a cancellation fee, the decision to refund will be up to you. Payment for appointments subject to a cancellation fee will be refunded automatically, and a cancellation fee may then be charged.
Note: Cancellation window for refunds and cancellation fee rules are separate settings and must be set separately.
Refunds when a client cancels an appointment after the deadline
Appointments not subject to a cancellation fee
When canceling an appointment, the client will be notified that the decision to issue a refund is up to you. You can refund them within 30 days of the payment date. To do this, click on the canceled appointment notification, or go to the Clients section, select the client's profile, and in the Appointments tab, click on the appointment marked with the Cancelled and Paid labels. Then, in the appointment details, click on payment details to open the invoice and select the Refund button, choose whether you want to make a full or partial refund (if partial, enter the refund amount), select the Refund payment button, and confirm. The client will receive a refund within one business day of issuing the refund.
Appointments subject to a cancellation fee
When canceling an appointment, the client will be notified that they will receive a full refund via Booksy Pay, but since they are canceling after the deadline, you have the right to charge a cancellation fee. Whether the cancellation fee is charged automatically depends on your cancellation fee settings.
The amount of each refund will be deducted from your Booksy Payments balance. You can find the history and status of all refunds in the transaction list in your Business Wallet. You will also receive a push notification for each completed refund and for client refund requests.